Skip to Content Skip to Navigation logo

Delaware Capitol Police

Patrol Duties

The Patrol Section is responsible for over 80 state properties throughout the greater Dover area. This includes the Capitol Complex, Kent County Courthouse, Kent County Family Court, Division of Motor Vehicles Complex, the Governor's Mansion (Woodburn), Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control facilities (DNREC), Delaware State Fire School and Fire Marshal's facilities, and many others. The Patrol Section responds to calls for service and investigates criminal, domestic, traffic, and parking related incidents occurring on and/or within specific state facilities and properties.

While the Patrol Section does concentrate its efforts on state properties, it is capable and prepared to go beyond this. The Delaware Legislature granted the division "statewide jurisdiction", thus allowing Delaware Capitol Police officers the ability to enforce the laws of the State of Delaware anywhere within the state.